Food · Health · Lifestyle · Uncategorized

The pizza that saved the day.

We’ve all been there, even the healthyest of us have “I just want to eat all the bad food” days and yesterday was one of them for me. I don’t know why, maybe I was feeling a bit cocky from beating 10 A-Day the day before or maybe I just wanted carbs, but that is what I had.

Toast with marmalade for breakfast, a fried egg sandwich for lunch and still I wanted more bread. I did manage to have an orange during the afternoon and it was a good one.

So it was coming up to dinner time and I started thinking about what we could have. Pizza was definitely the answer but these was none in the freezer, which actually turned out to be a good thing!

I had time so decided to make a pizza from scratch, and this way I could make one for baby too. Dough made and proving I set to on the toppings. Sauce, obviously, tinned tomatoes and onions with a few herbs. Two portions of veg right there, but as two of us we’re going to be eating it one each. Good start but I need more. I blitzed the sauce so it was smooth and then went into the freezer to get the sweet corn (I love sweet corn in tomato sauces, sometimes they need the sweetness) and I saw the frozen spinach, two more veggies for my sauce.

Toppings came next. Now as a veggie this bit is easy for me. No choice of meats or if I should pop some veg on there too, it’s simple, as much veg as possible. Green pepper, red onion, beetroot and olives. Four more veggies into my pizza. Cheese on top of course and the pizza was done. Taking into account portion sizes, the pizza came to 4 portions of my 10 A-Day.

Served with some homemade coleslaw and avocado and that 6 portions of veg and I still fulfilled the need for my carbtastic cheesy pizza!

What do you guys do when you’re having a cheat day? I need more naughty but nice recipes in my repitoire!

Total for the day, a respectable 7 portions.

Leave a Reply

